UK United Kingdom

Harvard University

Harvard University is made up of 11 principal academic units – ten faculties and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. The ten faculties oversee schools and divisions that offer courses and award academic degrees.

The name Harvard comes from the college’s first benefactor, the young minister John Harvard of Charlestown. Upon his death in 1638, he left his library and half his estate to the institution established in 1636 by vote of the Great and General Court of the Massachusetts Bay Colony.

If you’re from Harvard University media team and wish to update this text or logo please email us.



Screen Shot at pm.

7 Things You Need To Know About Cancer

In Lima, Peru this week, filming our latest NCDFREE short film on inequalities and progress in cancer care - a collaboration with the UICC (global cancer body) and GlobalRT (a group that aims to increase…

More Articles


No research items from Harvard University have been published yet.