Norwegian University of Science and Technology

The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norwegian: Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige universitet), commonly known as NTNU, is located in Trondheim. NTNU is the second largest of the eight universities in Norway, and, as its name suggests, has the main national responsibility for higher education in engineering and technology. In addition to engineering and the natural and physical sciences, the university offers advanced degrees in other academic disciplines ranging from the social sciences, the arts, medicine, architecture and fine art.

NTNU has 22 000 students, half of whom are studying technology-related subjects or the natural sciences. About 3200 degrees awarded each year, and 300 are doctoral degrees, including to around 1800 international students. Dozens of international student exchange programmes and more than 300 cooperative or exchange agreements with 60 universities worldwide. In 2011, the university provided 2600 scientific papers and reviews, and 4000 scientific presentations in more than 100 laboratories.