Menu Close

Texas A&M-San Antonio

Texas A&M University-San Antonio is the first upper-division institution of higher education located in the historically underserved South San Antonio. On May 27, 2009, Gov. Rick Perry signed Senate Bill 629 that created Texas A&M-San Antonio as a stand-alone university. The university, then known as Texas A&M University-Kingsville System Center-San Antonio, was approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board in January 2000. From fall 2008 to fall 2013, enrollment at Texas A&M University-San Antonio has grown 216%.

Today, Texas A&M-San Antonio provides affordable higher education opportunities to students from over 30 counties in the surrounding South Texas region, and has graduated over 5,000 students who are career-ready in a variety of in-demand fields such as education, business, information technology and cyber security, criminology and biology.

Currently serving nearly 4,500 students, the student body is 66% female and 67% Hispanic, and approximately 74% of students are the first in their family to attend college. Texas A&M-San Antonio prepares and empowers students to be innovative and contributing members of a global society.