Menu Close
NHMRC Peter Doherty Biomedical Early Career Research Fellow and Senior Research Fellow, Swinburne University of Technology

Dr Amie Hayley is an NHMRC Peter Doherty Biomedical Early Career Research Fellow (GNT1119960: 2017-2020) and Senior Research Fellow at the Centre for Human Psychopharmacology at Swinburne University. Her research focuses on delineating a novel biochemical-physiological-behavioural pathways relevant to oculomotor function, visual-attentional performance and information processing capabilities under drug conditions in order to quantify the effect on neurobehaviour. She aims to identify mechanisms by which these changes translate to dangerous human behaviour, and is particularly interested in impaired driving. Importantly, her program of research is seeking to develop new technologies to detect and monitor driver state to reduce the impact of drug-affected driving. Dr Hayley is currently examining the appropriateness of objective eye-tracking technology to monitor and detect impairment and accident risk in stimulant drug-affected drivers.

Research funding awarded in the past 3 years exceeds AUD $1MIL and she has published >35 peer reviewed publications in the field of neuropsychopharmacology, neurocognition and behavioural performance.

Dr Hayley currently leads a self-initiated, ongoing multidisciplinary collaborative network between Swinburne University and the Department of Critical Care at Monash Health, Casey Hospital, and Forensic Science South Australia at the Attorney General's Department. As part of this collaboration, she has overseen the completion of two substantive Phase 1 investigator-lead clinical trials assessing; 1) the effects of therapeutic (analgesic) doses of intravenous ketamine on behaviour, cognition and driving performance (ACTRN12616001485426) and 2) the neurocognitive, behavioural and sedating effects of doses of intravenous ketamine alone and in combination with either Fentanyl or Dexmedetomidine in healthy adults (DeKaF trial) (ACTRN12617000787381).


  • 2015–2020
    Dr, Swinburne University of Technology

Professional Memberships

  • Founding member and chair: International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety (ICADTS) working group for Driver State Monitoring