Menu Close
Professor of History, La Trobe University

Professor Clare Wright OAM is an award-winning historian, author and broadcaster who has worked in politics, academia and the media. She is the author of Beyond the Ladies Lounge: Australia's Female Publicans (MUP 2003, Text 2014) , The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka (Text 2013), which won the 2014 Stella Prize and the NIB Literary Prize and was short-listed for the Prime Minister's, Queensland, NSW and WA Literary Awards, and long-listed for a Walkley, and You Daughters of Freedom: The Australians Who Won the Vote and Inspired the World (Text, 2018) which was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's and Queensland Literary Awards. Clare researched, wrote and presented the acclaimed ABC1 documentary Utopia Girls and devised and co-wrote the ABC documentary series, The War That Changed Us. She is the host of Radio National's history series, Shooting the Past, and the co-host of the La Trobe University history podcast, Archive Fever. In 2020, Clare received a Medal of the Order of Australia for her services to literature and to historical research. Clare is presently an ARC Future Fellow and Principal Research Fellow at La Trobe University.


  • 2014–present
    ARC Future Fellow, La Trobe University
  • 2014–present
    Principal Research Fellow, La Trobe University


  • 2002 
    University of Melbourne, PhD
  • 1994 
    Monash University, MA Public History


  • 2018
    You Daughters of Freedom: The Australians Who Won the Vote and Inspired the World, Text Publishing
  • 2015
    We Are the Rebels, Text Publishing
  • 2013
    The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka, Text Publishing
  • 2003
    Beyond the Ladies Lounge: Australia's Female Publicans, MUP

Grants and Contracts

  • 2004
    Postdoctoral Research Fellow
    Funding Source:
    Australian Research Council

Professional Memberships

  • Australian Historical Association
  • Professional Historians Association (Vic)
  • Australian Writers Guild
  • Australian Mining History Association

Research Areas

  • Historical Studies (2103)


Order of Australia