Menu Close
Professor of Engineering Science, University of Oxford

Eleanor Stride obtained her BEng and PhD in Mechanical Engineering from University College London. Her final-year project on non-destructive testing using ultrasound and a serendipitous meeting with a radiologist led her to studying the use of microbubble agents in medical ultrasound imaging and ultimately to designing and engineering new types of agent for both imaging and therapy.

Following the completion of her PhD in the UCL Ultrasonics Group, she was appointed to a lectureship and a Royal Academy of Engineering and Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) Research Fellowship during which she started working in the complementary area of micro-encapsulation, developing new methods for fabricating bubbles, capsules and other nano and microscale layered structures for a range of biomedical and other applications.

In 2011 she was appointed to a University Lectureship and Non-Tutorial Fellowship at St Catherine’s College Oxford and joined the Biomedical Ultrasonics, Biotherapy and Biopharmaceutical Laboratory (BUBBL) in the Institute of Biomedical Engineering; where she continues her research in encapsulation and ultrasonics in particular, combining these themes for the development of systems which integrate medical imaging and therapy.

She is an associate editor of Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology and a member of the Institute of Physics, Institute of Mechanical Engineers and the Acoustical Society of America. She has published over 110 refereed journal papers, 4 book chapters and presented over 100 conference papers. Her work has also led to the development of new patented technologies for the preparation of microbubble suspensions for ultrasound imaging and drug delivery and she has set up a spin-out company in this area. Her work has been recognized through the award of a Philip Leverhulme prize, The EPSRC & Journal of the Royal Society Interface Award, the Engineering Medal at the Parliamentary Science, Engineering & Technology for Britain awards, the Bruce Lindsay Award from the Acoustical Society of America and the 2015 IET AF Harvey prize.


  • –present
    Professor of Engineering Science, University of Oxford