Menu Close
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Marcia Anderson, MD is Cree-Anishinaabe and grew up in the North End of Winnipeg. She has family roots in the Norway House Cree Nation and Peguis First Nation in Manitoba.

She graduated with her MD from the University of Manitoba in 2002 and began her residency in internal medicine at the U of M and completed it at the University of Saskatchewan. She joined the departments of community health sciences and internal medicine at the University of Manitoba August 2007, and in September of 2011 became the head of the Section of First Nations, Métis and Inuit Health.

She is a medical officer of health for the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, a past president of the Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada and past chair of the Pacific Region Indigenous Doctors Congress and since 2017 has served as executive director, Indigenous academic affairs, Ongomiizwin-Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing.

In 2015, following the release of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s final reports, Dr. Anderson led the faculty-wide workshop and the subsequent creation of five working groups to develop the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences’ Reconciliation Action Plan.

Her research interests in Indigenous health include urban Indigenous youth health, primary health care, and medical education.

Throughout her career Dr. Anderson has advocated for a more robust curriculum in Indigenous health and changes in the admissions process that would support the successful recruitment of increased numbers of First Nations, Métis and Inuit students. She was recognized for her efforts in 2011 with a National Aboriginal Achievement Award (now known as the Indspire Awards) and was named as one of Canada’s 100 Most Powerful Women in 2018 by Women’s Executive Network.

Dr. Anderson serves as chair of the Indigenous Health Network for the Association of Faculties of Medicine (AFMC) which prepared the Joint Commitment to Action on Indigenous Health report, approved by the AFMC board in May 2019.


  • –present
    Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba