Menu Close
Dean, Aboriginal Engagement & Strategic Projects, University of South Australia

Professor Peter Buckskin is Dean: Aboriginal Engagement & Strategic Projects (AESP) at the University of South Australia (UniSA).

Newly created in 2016, the Dean will play an important role in promoting the University nationally and internationally and providing advice to the University on building and strengthening relationships with Aboriginal communities.

Prior to taking up the position of Dean: AESP, Professor Buckskin was Dean: Indigenous Scholarship, Engagement and Research; and prior to that was Dean and Head of School of the David Unaipon College of Indigenous Education and Research.

Before joining UniSA in 2006, Professor Buckskin has held high public office as a Ministerial Adviser, Superintendent of Schools, and a Senior Executive at both State and Commonwealth level in the portfolios of Aboriginal Affairs, Employment, Education and Training.

In 2012, Professor Buckskin was appointed Convenor of the State's Advisory Committee on the recognition of Aboriginal people in the South Australian Constitution Act 1934.

In 2013, Professor Buckskin co-chaired the development of UniSA’s Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP).

In conjunction with UniSA College, Professor Buckskin led the development of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Deadly Alumni Chapter which is specific to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander graduates of UniSA.

Professor Buckskin successfully project directed a $7.5 million More Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Teachers Initiative (MATSITI) – a collaboration which established 60 school and university partnerships, compiled comprehensive data and evidence in teacher education and school employment, and developed a comprehensive series of promotional strategies for Indigenous teachers to consider education a career of choice.

Professor Buckskin in his role as Dean: AESP, is also Co-Chair of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander University of Choice project; Member of the Indigenous Participation, Education, Employment Group (IPEEG) and Chair of the Aboriginal Employment Working Group (AEWG).


  • –present
    Dean: Aboriginal Engagement & Strategic Projects, University of South Australia