Menu Close
Professor of Political Science, University of Louisville

Rodger A. Payne is a Professor of Political Science and an Associated Faculty member with the Film Studies and Production minor. His primary areas of interest are international security, multilateralism, American foreign policy, international relations theory, global environmental politics, and world politics and popular culture. His current work focuses on two major projects: (1) "America First" and multilateral relations and (2) the value of comedic and satirical narratives in world politics.

Payne is the coauthor of Democratizing Global Politics (State University of New York Press, 2004) and the author of more than 40 academic journal articles and book chapters. From 1994-2011, Payne was the Director of the Grawemeyer Award for Ideas Improving World Order. He also served as Department Chair for eight years, with the most recent term concluding in December 2017. He previously taught at Northwestern University for two years and has been a visiting research fellow at Harvard's Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Stanford's Center for International Security and Cooperation, the University of Chicago's Program on International Politics, Economics, and Security, and the Institute for Social Sciences Research at the University of Dundee (Scotland). Payne received a Dissertation Fellowship from the International Peace and Security Studies Program co-sponsored by the Social Science Research Council and MacArthur Foundation and was a member of the two-person 1983 National Debate Tournament championship team from the University of Kansas.


  • 1991–present
    Professor of Political Science, University of Louisville


  • 2020
    America First and the Human Rights Regime, Journal of Human Rights (free access through October 31)

Professional Memberships

  • Society for American Baseball Research


Fulbright Canada Research Chair in Canadian-U.S. relations at Carleton University’s Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Fall 2018.