Menu Close
Vice President for Research, Iowa State University

Sarah Nusser is vice president for research at Iowa State University and a professor in the Department of Statistics. She is a faculty member in the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology and in interdepartmental graduate programs for Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Human Computer Interaction at Iowa State University. As vice president for research, Sarah leads efforts to advance and support the research mission at Iowa State University. She supports campus-wide interdisciplinary research initiatives, as well as programs for fostering faculty research development and ethical research practice. Sarah oversees several interdisciplinary research centers, as well as units that support sponsored funding, responsible conduct of research, and institutional research facilities. Prior to joining the Office of the Vice President for Research in 2014, Sarah served as the director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology at Iowa State University for 15 years, where she conducted research in survey statistics and methodology with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Natural Resource Conservation Service, National Agricultural Statistics Service, Economic Research Service, and National Institute of Food and Agriculture; National Science Foundation (NSF); National Institutes of Health (NIH); and federal statistical agencies, including the Bureau of Labor Statistics and U.S. Census Bureau. Sarah has served on numerous scientific panels, advisory committees and governing boards with the National Academies, NSF, NIH, U.S. Census Bureau, U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization, and statistical societies. She is a fellow of the American Statistical Association (ASA) and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute, and has received awards for excellence and service from Iowa State and the ASA. Sarah received a BS in botany from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, MS in botany from North Carolina State University, and PhD in statistics from Iowa State University.


  • 1992–2017
    Professor and Vice President for Research, Iowa State University