Senior Lecturer in Criminology, Queensland University of Technology

Cassandra is currently a Senior Lecturer with the School of Justice, Queensland University of Technology. She joined QUT in 2012, from the Queensland Police Service, where she worked in research and policy roles. Since 2008, Cassandra has focused her research on various aspects of online fraud, including the policing of online fraud, the prevention of online fraud, and the need to support victims who experience online fraud. In 2011, she was awarded the Donald Mackay Churchill Fellowship, which enabled her to travel to the UK, USA and Canada to examine how these jurisdictions respond to online fraud.

She is has just completed a national project with colleagues aimed at improving the reporting experiences and support services available to online fraud victims. This project interviewed 80 victims of online fraud across Australia who reported losses over $10K to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission. The findings from this research are due for release shortly.

Cassandra contributes to Project Sunbird, which is a collaborative project targeting online fraud between the West Australian Police and Department of Commerce. She is also the author of the training package entitled "Seniors Online Security", which was developed by the Carindale Police Citizens Youth Club, and is a regular speaker at seniors groups across Australia, educating them about online security. Recently, she was elected to the Board of Directors, for the Queensland Police Citizens Youth Welfare Association (QPCYWA).


  • 2012–present
    Lecturer, School of Justice, Queensland University of Technology
  • 2007–2012
    Research/Policy Officer, Queensland Police Service


  • 2008 
    Queensland University of Technology, Doctor of Philosophy

Grants and Contracts

  • 2013
    Improving responses to online fraud victims: an examination of reporting and support
    Chief Investigator
    Funding Source:
    Criminology Research Grant

Research Areas

  • Criminology (1602)


Donald Mackay Churchill Fellow Recipient 2011