Menu Close
Professor of Interdisciplinary Parasitology, University of Nottingham

Hany Elsheikha is a Professor and Chair of Interdisciplinary Parasitology in the global health department, School of Veterinary Medicine and Science, University of Nottingham (SVMS-UoN). Hany is also a European Veterinary Parasitology College diplomate and a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy. He also serves as the Head of the European Scientific Counsel Companion Animal Parasites UK & Ireland. Hany earned his PhD from Michigan State University for research performed on the molecular evolution of the causative agent of equine protozoal myeloencephalitis. He was awarded the prestigious American Society for Microbiology/National Center for Infectious Diseases Postdoctoral Fellowship. Since joining SVMS-UoN, he has been spearheading the development and delivery of parasitology teaching. Also, he has established a multidisciplinary research programme focused on decoding the interkingdom chemical communication between the host cells and neuropathogenic protozoan parasites, with a special interest in Toxoplasma gondii. Key areas of interest include host-parasite interaction, anti-parasitic drug discovery, parasite evolution and parasites of public health impacts. He has published more than 300 articles in peer-reviewed journals, and in professional and science communication magazines. Hany has published 8 books in veterinary, tropical and medical parasitology for students, residents and professionals.


  • 2022–present
    Chair professor, University of Nottingham
  • 2014–2021
    Associate professor, University of Nottingham
  • 2007–2013
    Assistant professor, University of Nottingham


  • 2011 
    European Veterinary Parasitology College, Diploma in Veterinary Parasitology
  • 2010 
    University of Nottingham, PGCHE
  • 2005 
    Michigan State University, PhD in Molecular Evolution

Professional Memberships

  • o Diplomate of EVPC
  • o Fellow of Royal Society of Public Health (FRSPH), UK
  • o Fellow of Higher Education Academy (FHEA), UK
  • o Member of BAVP, UK
  • o Member of International Separation Science Society (CASSS)