Menu Close

Joanne is a CSIRO Fellow and a former Group Executive of Agribusiness and Chief of Division. Her activities focus on strategy for national research collections and in agricultural sciences, and assisting with the developing science precinct in Canberra with the ANU in the area of transformational agriculture.

She has worked in CSIRO for over 30 years originally as a researcher in entomology focused on the cotton industry. She is currently the Chair of the ‘Expert Working Group on Security Australia’s Agricultural Future’ for the Australian Council of Learned Academies. She is an ACIAR Commissioner and has held a number of senior roles including Chair of the international body, GBIF, and was a member of the Biosecurity Advisory Council and the Australian e-Research Infrastructure Council. She was head of the Secretariat that assisted Government in the setting of National Research Priorities in 2002, during her 2-year secondment to the Federal Public Service.


  • 1983–present
    CSIRO Fellow, CSIRO


Public Service Medal