Professor of Planetary Science, University of Leicester

1999- Beagle2 science team
2003- ExoMars PanCam Co-I
2007- Member of the Stardust Comet Wild2 and interstellar sample return mineralogy teams
2007-2008 Member of Mars Sample Return planning team (iMARS 2008).
2011-2014 Member of the UK Space Exploration Advisory Committee
2011 UK Curation Facility Team member
2012- Member of the ChemCam instrument team, MSL
2012- Mars Science Laboratory (MSL) Participating Scientist team lead
2013- ExoMars Landing Site Selection Working Group
2013 Member of the Hayabusa (Japanese asteroid sample return mission) allocation committee
2013- Member of Curation Facility team – including part of current Horizon2020 bid
2013- Co-I HiRISE camera on Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter
2011-14 Marco Polo-R asteroid sample return (space weathering, mineralogy teams)
2015- ExoMars 2016 Orbiter CaSSIS camera team


  • –present
    Reader in Planetary Science, University of Leicester


  • 1992 
    Open University, PhD MIneralogy


NASA Group Achievement Award: MSL, ChemCam, Stardust; ESA group achievement award Mars Express