Menu Close
Jerry Adams to receive top award for cancer research. Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Cancer researcher to get top honour in awards

One of Australia’s leading experts on cancer therapy at a molecular level is to receive a top research honour by the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Jerry Adams, from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, in Melbourne, will be awarded the Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture for scientific research at the highest standing in the biological sciences.

The academy also announced the winners of other research awards that will be presented at the annual Science at the Shine Dome conference in May.

The academy’s president, Suzanne Cory, said in a statement the awards recognised the efforts of both distinguished researchers and younger investigators.

“Each recipient is an outstanding scientist,” she said. “On behalf of the Academy I warmly congratulate each of these individuals on their remarkable achievements in science.”

The academy also announced that geophysicist Professor Kurt Lambeck, from the Research School of Earth Sciences at the Australian National University, is to get the Matthew Flinders Medal, the most prestigious award for physical sciences. However, his award will not be presented until next year’s Science in the Shine Dome conference.

2014 Career research awards

  • Professor Jerry Adams, from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne – Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture for scientific research in biological sciences.

  • Emeritus Professor Curt Wentrup, from the University of Queensland — David Craig Medal for research in chemistry.

  • Dr Neil Williams, formerly of Geoscience Australia — Haddon Forrester King Medal in earth and related sciences.

  • Dr Gavin Young, from the Australian National University — Mawson Medal and Lecture for earth sciences in Australia.

  • Professor Min Gu, from Swinburne University of Technology — Ian Wark Medal and Lecture for contribution to the prosperity of Australia through scientific research.

2014 Early-career research awards

  • Dr Julie Arblaster, from the Australian Bureau of Meteorology — Anton Hales Medal for research in earth sciences.

  • Associate Professor David Warton, from the University of New South Wales — Christopher Heyde Medal for mathematical sciences.

  • Dr Maria Seton, from University of Sydney — Dorothy Hill Award for female researchers in the earth sciences including reef science, ocean drilling, marine science and taxonomy in marine systems.

  • Professor Chris Turney, from the University of New South Wales — Frederick White Prize for scientific achievements contributing to the understanding of natural phenomena.

  • Associate Professor Richard Payne, from University of Sydney — Le Fèvre Memorial Prize for research in basic chemistry.

  • Professor Geoffrey Pryde, from Griffith University — Pawsey Medal for research in physics.

  • Professor Katherine Belov, University of Sydney — Fenner Medal for research in biology (excluding the biomedical sciences).

  • Dr Kieran Harvey, from the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Melbourne — Gottschalk Medal for research in the medical sciences.

  • Professor Ryan Lister, from the University of Western Australia — Ruth Stephens Gani Medal for distinguished research in human genetics

2014 Research support awards

The academy also announced that four researchers will get research support under the Margaret Middleton Fund for endangered Australian native vertebrate animals. They are:

  • Mr Laurence Berry, Australian National University
  • Mr Christopher Henderson, Griffith University
  • Ms Stephanie Hing, Murdoch University
  • Ms Wendy Neilan, Australian National University

2014 Travelling Fellowships

  • Dr Catherine Foley PSM FTSE, from CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering, is awarded the Lloyd Rees Lecture in chemical physics.

  • Dr Huy The Nguyen, from the University of Queensland, is awarded the AK Head Travelling Scholarship for Mathematical Scientists.

  • Professor Ullrich Steiner, from the University of Cambridge, is awarded the Selby Travelling Fellowship for excellence in science.

  • Dr Rodney van der Ree, from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne, has been awarded the Graeme Caughley Travelling Fellowship in ecological science.

Want to write?

Write an article and join a growing community of more than 126,600 academics and researchers from 4,016 institutions.

Register now