Konkuk University

In May 1946, Konkuk University was established as Chosun School of Politics (조선정치학관), a junior college for future political leaders, by Dr. Yoo Seok-chang. Thirteen years later, the school became a “comprehensive university” and changed its name to Konkuk (建國), which means “founding a nation” in Hanja (Chinese characters). As strong believers in the role of higher education in maintaining Korea’s sovereignty, the founder and his supporters chose the name in the hopes that Konkuk graduates would build and serve the nation. As of 2016, Konkuk University has two campuses—the main campus in the heart of Seoul and the Glocal campus in Chungju—with approximately 29,000 students enrolled.


Displaying all articles


More Authors