Adjunct Professor of Environmental Geography, CQUniversity Australia

Steve is an Adjunct Professor of Environmental Geography at Central Queensland University in Cairns. From 2006-2016, he held a number of senior roles as Professor and Director at James Cook University. From 2003-2005, he was an Associate Professor in Geography and Director of Research for the Rainforest Cooperative Research Centre. Steve is a former Councillor of the Institute of Australian Geographers (2004-2007 and 2011-2012) and former member of the Wet Tropics Management Authority’s Scientific Advisory Committee (2004-2011). He was also honorary Treasurer of the Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation (ATBC), Asia-Pacific Chapter (2010-15). In 2009, he was appointed to the ATBC Council for a 2-year term. In 2010 he was a member of the Engineering & Environmental Sciences Panel for the Australian Government’s Excellence in Research Australia initiative. Steve is a Past President of the Australian Council of Environmental Deans and Directors, Past-President of the Institute of Australian Geographers and Chair of the National Committee for Geographical Sciences, Australian Academy of Science. Steve was an Expert Reviewer of the IPCC's 5th Assessment Report, Working Group 2 (Impacts and Adaptation). In 2016, he was made a Distinguished Fellow of the Institute of Australian Geographers, recognised for his distinguished service to Australian geography. Steve was the 2017 recipient of the Royal Geographical Society of Queensland’s J.P. Thomson Medal, recognising his outstanding contributions to geography over an extended period of time.


  • –present
    Adjunct professor, CQUniversity