New volcanoes discovered in southeast Australia

Three new volcanoes have been discovered in the Newer Volcanics Province (NVP) in Victoria and South Australia, a region with more than 400 volcanoes.

Led by Julie Boyce, researchers from Monash University used satellite imagery, NASA models and topography studies to map the previously undiscovered volcanoes.

The research allows geologists to better understand the volcanically active region, which may be subject to future eruptions despite it being 5,000 years since Australia’s last volcano erupted.

Read more at Monash University