Menu Close
Program Manager, Journalism, RMIT University

Associate Professor Alexandra Wake is a program manager for Journalism at RMIT University, teaches Global News Studies in the Graduate Diploma of Journalism, and is the elected President of the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia. Her projects as a researcher and teacher run parallel to a professional career as a journalist in Australia, the Asia Pacific and the Middle East. Her research work centers on journalism education and pedagogy, international newsgathering, social and mobile media, and supporting journalists with self-care when reporting responsibly on mental health, suicide, and other traumatic events. Dr Wake has taught at Journalism at RMIT, Deakin University and Dubai Women’s College in the United Arab Emirates. Wake was previously a senior journalist at the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and has reported for a wide range of Australian and international news agencies and conducted multiple international training programs across the global south. Dr Wake has been an education advisor for Mindframe since 2012 and was a Dart Academic Fellow in 2011. She is also part of the team of researchers in "The International UNESCO UniTWIN Network on Gender, Media and ICTs" promoting and developing international co-participative projects together with the National Autonomous University of Mexico. In 2018 she was named a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, UK.


  • 2005–present
    Journalism lecturer, RMIT University, Melbourne
  • 2021–present
    Associate professor, RMIT University, Melbourne
  • 2004–2007
    Journalism lecturer, Deakin Univesity
  • 2001–2004
    Journalism lecturer, Dubai Women's College, United Arab Emirates


  • 2015 
    Deakin, PhD
  • 2008 
    RMIT, Graduate Certificate of Tertiary Teaching and Learning
  • 2002 
    Cambridge, CELTA
  • 2001 
    QUT, Master of Arts (Research)

Professional Memberships

  • Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance
  • Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia


Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, UK.