Menu Close
Professor and Eugene M. Isenberg Chair in Integrative Studies, UMass Amherst

As of April 2021, I am the Eugene M. Isenberg Chair in Integrative Studies at the Isenberg School of Management at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Previously, I was the John F. Smith Memorial Professor of Operations Management at the Isenberg School. In 2001, I founded the Virtual Center for Supernetworks at the Isenberg School, which I continue to serve as Director of. I have had over 225 journal articles published and 16 books on various network themes including supply chains. My recent awards include being elected a Fellow of the Network Science Society in 2019 and also receipt of The Constantin Caratheodory Prize from the International Society of Global Optimization. In 2020 I received the Harold Larnder Prize, and am only the second female to receive this award, which has been given annually for 35 years.

As of 2022, I am a Co-Chair of the Board of Directors of the Kyiv School of Economics in Ukraine and I continue to serve on its International Academic Board.

Professor Anna Nagurney is regularly contacted by the media due to her expertise on network systems and supply chains.


  • 2001–present
    Founding Director, Virtual Center for Supernetworks
  • 1998–2021
    John F. Smith Memorial Professor, Isenberg School of Management
  • 2015–2016
    Visiting Fellow, Trinity term, All Souls College, Oxford University, England
  • 2011–2015
    Visiting Professor -- 44 days per year, School of Business, Economics and Law, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • 2005–2006
    Fellow, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University
  • 2002–2002
    Distinguished Fulbright Professor, University of Innsbruck, Austria


  • 1983 
    Brown University, PhD in Applied Mathematics with a specialty in Operations Research

Professional Memberships

  • SIAM
  • POMS
  • DSI
  • RSAI


Elected INFORMS (Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences) Fellow; elected Network Science Society Fellow; elected RSAI (Regional Science Association International) Fellow; recipient of the Harold Larnder Prize, recipient of the Constantin Caratheodory Prize; recipient of the WORMS (Women in Operation Research and the Management Sciences) Award, the University of Catania medal from Italy, and the Kempe Prize from Sweden, among other awards.