Menu Close
Emeritus Professor, Faculty of Science, University of Technology Sydney

Professor Bruce Milthorpe joined UTS as Dean of Science in November 2008 until retirement in 2016. Previously he was a professor in the Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering, University of New South Wales. From February 2006 to August 2007, he was the Deputy President (Academic) of UNSW Asia. He was also Head of School of the Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering, UNSW, from 1998 until March 2006.
He has a background as a biochemist and biomaterials scientist with 20 years experience in biomaterials development and assessment, as well as interests in tissue engineering and cytometry. His research experience is in biomaterials, orthopaedic graft materials for reconstruction, hydroxyapatite ceramic composites, biomaterial interactions with bone, quantitative cytometry, protein interactions with materials, and data analysis. He has additional experience in the use of cell culture and in vivo models for assessment of cellular and tissue interactions with materials.
Professor Milthorpe has been an advisor to the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia through a sub-committee of the Therapeutic Devices Evaluation Committee and the Therapeutic Goods Committee. He is a director of Insearch Ltd and alternate director for the Sydney Institute for Marine Science. He is a past director of a biomedical instrumentation company.
He has been a member of the international editorial board of Biomaterials, and is now on the editorial board of two new journals in the field. He has published over 110 refereed journal articles and more than 120 conference presentations. Since 2000 he has been a chief investigator on biomedical research projects and grants with total funding in excess of $2.7 million. He has been named on three patents in the area of medical devices.


  • 2008–present
    Dean of Science, University of Technology, Sydney


  • 1978 
    Australian National University, PhD

Research Areas

  • Biomedical Engineering (0903)


Fellow Royal Society of NSW