Menu Close
Professor of Governance, University of Canberra

Diane is Centenary Professor at the University of Canberra in the Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis. Professor Stone is also a Professor at the University of Warwick in the UK and has been a Visiting Professor at Central European University in Hungary for most years from 2008-2017.

Currently she is the consulting editor of the journal 'Policy and Politics'. She is also a Vice President of the International Public Policy Association. From 2016 to 2019 she was a participant in the H2020 European commission project on European Leadership: Cultural, Science and Innovation Diplomacy - EL-CSID.

At CEU in Budapest she was founding Professor of Public Policy 2004-08, and architect of the Erasmus Mundus public policy dual degree consortium securing a multi-million Euro grant for its launch. She was also a board member of the Think Tank Fund of the Open Society Foundation.

She has also been a member of the Governing Body of an international organisation, the Global Development Network, and until end of 2012 a Member of Council of the Overseas Development Institute.

She was co-editor of 'Global Governance: A Review of Multilateralism and International Organization' affiliated with the Academic Council of the United Nations System from 2005-08. For a brief spell she worked at the World Bank.

Her professional and research interests are in the area of public policy, globalisation and governance with a current specialism in 'science diplomacy'. Her latest book is called 'Knowledge Networks and Transnational Governance: The Public-Private Policy Nexus in the Global Agora' (Palgrave Macmillan, 2013).


  • –present
    Winthrop Professor of Politics and International Relations, University of Western Australia


  • 1994 
    ANU, PhD. Political Science & International Relations

Grants and Contracts

  • 2006
    Non Governmental Public Action
    Chief Investigator
    Funding Source:
    UK Economic & Social Research Council

Research Areas

  • Political Science (1606)
  • Policy And Administration (1605)


Fulbright Fellow to Georgetown University, 1991; Marie Curie Chair 2004-08 funded by the Fp6 European Commission; Fellow Academy of Social Sciences in Australia;