Menu Close
Professor of Law, The University of Queensland

The law of politics, especially electoral law, is Graeme Orr's primary research expertise. His books include The Law of Politics (2019 and 2010), Ritual and Rhythm in Electoral Systems (2015), and The Law of Deliberative Democracy (2016, with Ron Levy). His PhD thesis examined electoral bribery. Graeme does consultancy and pro bono work in the field and regular media commentary, with over 110 'op-eds'.

He has also published extensively in labour law, the law of negligence and on issues of language and law. Although he had limited experience as a legal practitioner, Graeme was twice an Associate to Federal Court judges and admitted solicitor of the Queensland Supreme Court.

Graeme authors the entry on Australia for the Annual Register, a 264 year old almanac of world affairs. He has been was elected to the Australian Academy of Law and the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia.

He is married to Professor Gen Dingle, a clinical psychology academic, and has two exquisite and irascible girls.


  • –present
    Professor, University of Queensland Law School


  • 2005 
    Griffith University, PhD
  • 2005 
    Griffith University, Grad Cert Higher Ed
  • 1992 
    University College London, LLM (Merit)
  • 1988 
    University of Queensland, LLB (Hons)
  • 1986 
    University of Queensland, BA (Maths)


  • 2011
    Electoral Democracy (ed),
  • 2010
    The Law of Politics,
  • 2004
    Australian Electoral Systems,
  • 2003
    Realising Democracy (ed),

Grants and Contracts

  • 2013
    The Law of Deliberative Democracy
    CI with Dr Ron Levy
    Funding Source:
    ARC Discovery
  • 2010
    Dollars and Democracy
    CI with Dr Joo-Cheong Tham and Prof Brian Costar
    Funding Source:
    ARC Discovery
  • 2002
    Australian Electoral Law
    CI with Prof George Williams
    Funding Source:
    ARC Linkage

Research Areas

  • Constitutional Law (180108)
  • Australian Government And Politics (160601)


Fellow, Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia; Fellow, Australian Academy of Law