BSc from The University of Adelaide. PhD from Oxford University supported by a Rhodes Scholarship in 1987. Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. Has published over 530 peer-reviewed scientific papers, supervised over 72 PhD students and 36 postdoctoral researchers. Co-winner of two Eureka prizes. Compulsive birdwatcher. Currently The Chief Scientist of The Nature Conservancy, 20% The University of Queensland


  • –present
    Director ARC Centre of Excellence for Environmental Decisions, University of Queensland
  • 2016–present
    The Chief Scientist, The Nature Conservancy


    University of Oxford, DPhil


Inaugural Fenner medal; FAA; Foreign Associate, National Academy of Sciences (USA)