Menu Close
Bertrand Russell Professor of Philosophy, University of Cambridge

Huw Price is Bertrand Russell Professor of Philosophy and a Professorial Fellow of Trinity College at the University of Cambridge. From 2002–2012 he was ARC Federation Fellow and Challis Professor of Philosophy at the University of Sydney, where he founded the Centre for Time in the Department of Philosophy.

His publications include 'Facts and the Function of Truth' (Blackwell, 1988), 'Time's Arrow and Archimedes' Point' (OUP, 1996), 'Naturalism Without Mirrors' (OUP, 2011), 'Expressivism, Pragmatism and Representationalism' (CUP, 2013) and a range of articles in journals such as Nature, Mind, The Journal of Philosophy and the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science. He is also co-editor (with Richard Corry) of 'Causation, Physics, and the Constitution of Reality: Russell's Republic Revisited' (OUP, 2007).

He is a Fellow of the British Academy and a Fellow and a former Member of Council of the Australian Academy of the Humanities. He was consulting editor for the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy from 1995-2006, and is an associate editor of The Australasian Journal of Philosophy and a member of the editorial boards of Contemporary Pragmatism, Logic and Philosophy of Science, the Routledge International Library of Philosophy, and the European Journal for Philosophy of Science.


  • –present
    Professorial Fellow, Trinity College, Cambridge
  • –present
    Bertrand Russell Professor of Philosophy, Cambridge University
  • 2002–2012
    ARC Federation Fellow and Challis Professor of Philosophy, University of Sydney
  • 2001–2003
    Professor of Logic and Metaphysics, University of Edinburgh
  • 1997–2001
    Professor of Natural Metaphysics, University of Sydney


  • 1981 
    University of Cambridge, PhD, Philosophy
  • 1977 
    University of Oxford, MSc, Pure Maths
  • 1976 
    ANU, BA, Pure Maths & Philosophy