Menu Close

Jo-Ansie van Wyk

Professor in International Politics, University of South Africa

Professor Jo-Ansie van Wyk lectures International Politics at the University of South Africa (Unisa), Pretoria, South Africa. She has completed a D Phil (International Relations) on South Africa’s post-apartheid nuclear diplomacy, and has published on, amongst others, nuclear diplomacy; foreign policy; political leadership; African politics; space politics; and environmental and hydro-politics. She is Fulbright Alumna (University of Delaware, Newark, United States of America) and a Member of the South African Academy for Science and Art. She has been a guest lecturer at the Universities of Johannesburg and Pretoria; and the South African National Intelligence Academy; the South African National Defence College; the South African National War College; and the South African Diplomatic Academy. She has completed consultancies for the World Bank; UNESCO; the Institute for Security Studies (ISS); the South African Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA); and Consultancy Africa Intelligence (CAI). From June 2010 until October 2014, she served on the South African Minister of Trade and Industry’s South African Council for Space Affairs (SACSA). She is a recipient of inter alia, the University of South Africa Women Developing Researcher Award (2012); Academic Honorary Colours (University of Pretoria, 2013); the Bradlow Fellowship of the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA, 2014); and Unisa’s Leadership in Research Women Award (2014). She is rated as a C3 researcher by the South African National Research Foundation (NRF).


  • 2017–present
    Professor, International Politics, University of South Africa


  • 2013 
    University of Pretoria, D Phil (International Relations)
  • 2000 
    University of Stellenbosch , M A (Political Science)
  • 1992 
    University of Stellenbosch , Hons BA
  • 1989 
    University of Stellenbosch , BA

Grants and Contracts

  • 2018
    Professor in International Politics
    Funding Source:
    National Research Foundation

Professional Memberships

  • International Political Science Association
  • International Studies Association
  • South African Association of Political Studies


See my CV on