Menu Close
Professor and Commissioner, Yoorrook Justice Commission, Monash University

Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Law, Monash University


  • 1997–present
    Queens Counsel, Victorian Bar
  • 2021–present
    Commissioner, Yoorrook Justice Commission
  • 2022–present
    Adjunct professor, Faculty of Law, Monash University
  • 2020–2022
    Professor, Executive Director, Castan Centre for Human Rights Law, Faculty of Law, Monash University
  • 2005–2020
    Justice , Supreme Court of Victoria
  • 2015–2020
    President, Forensic Leave Panel (Victoria)
  • 2008–2010
    President, Victorian Civil and Administrative Appeals Tribunal
  • 1985–2005
    Barrister, Victorian Bar


  • 2017 
    Oxford University, Master of Studies, International Human Rights Law
  • 1977 
    Monash University, BA/LLB (Hons)

Professional Memberships

  • Fellow, Australian Academy of Law


Member of the Order of Australia in 2017 for 'significant service to the law and to the judiciary, to native title and human rights, and the community'; finalist, Australian Human Rights Medal of the Australian Human Rights Commission, 2021.