Marguerite Evans-Galea

Honorary Fellow Manager, Murdoch Children's Research Institute

Dr Evans-Galea is the inaugural Executive Director of the Industry Mentoring Network in STEM (IMNIS) with the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE). She liaises with University and Industry leaders around Australia to coordinate and oversee a high level mentoring program.

Dr Evans-Galea is also an Honorary research scientist at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute. With a PhD in molecular biology and over 15 years experience leading translational medical research programs at world-leading organisations in the United States and Australia, Dr Evans-Galea’s research and leadership have been internationally recognised with numerous awards. Dr Evans-Galea has chaired executive committees, and has served with advisory groups in state and federal governments.

Strongly committed to empowering early-mid career researchers (EMCRs), she regularly mentors students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty. Dr Evans-Galea has developed graduate mentoring programs in the USA, was the founding chair of the EMCR Forum with the Australian Academy of Science and currently leads the Australian Science and Innovation Forum with ATSE.

An internationally recognised advocate for women in STEMM, Dr Evans-Galea serves on the Science in Australia Gender Equity Expert Advisory Group and is co-founder of Women in STEMM Australia. She communicates regularly on a range of science-related topics via social and mainstream media. Dr Evans-Galea has also been recognised with an Australian Leadership Award and is an inductee and Ambassador for the Victorian Honour Roll of Women.


  • 2009–present
    Honorary Research Fellow, University of Melbourne
  • 2008–present
    Research Scientist, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute
  • 2017–present
    IMNIS Executive Director, Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering


  • 1999 
    UNSW, PhD
  • 1995 
    University of Queensland, PGDipSc
  • 1994 
    University of Queensland, BSc
  • 1994 
    University of Queensland, BMus