Menu Close
Executive director and CEO: School of Business Leadership, University of South Africa

Dr Renosi Mokate was appointed Executive Director (ED) and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Unisa Graduate School of Business Leadership in January 2014. Before joining the SBL Dr Mokate was an independent consultant for the Ministry of Finance and National Treasury as well as a member of the Investigation Steering Committee of the Municipal Demarcation Board.

From 2010 to 2012 she was the Executive Director of the World Bank Group (WB), where she represented Angola, Nigeria and South Africa and also served as the Chairperson of the Audit Committee as well as member of various other committees. Prior to that she was Deputy Governor (DG) of the South African Reserve Bank (SARB). During her tenure as DG she was a member of the Monetary Policy Committee, the Governors’ Executive Committee and the Audit Committee. She also chaired two subsidiaries of the SARB, namely the South African Bank Note Company (Pty) Ltd and the SA Mint (Pty) Ltd.

She has held various positions in the public sector and academia, including being the Chairperson and CEO of the Financial and Fiscal Commission; CEO of the Central Energy Fund; ED: Group Economic and Social Analysis, Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC); Director and Professor: Centre for Reconstruction and Development, University of Pretoria; Senior Policy Analyst, Development Bank of Southern Africa and Associate Professor of Economics at Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA.

She is a member of the Board of Advisors, School of Public Policy and Administration, University of Delaware, USA and the Advisory Panel on the Development Progress Report, Overseas Development Institute, United Kingdom. She has held numerous board positions in the public and private sectors. She is also a board member of the Bidvest Bank as well as Vukile Property Fund. More recently Renosi Mokate was appointed the Chairperson of South Africa’s Government Employee Pension Fund.

She holds a PhD and MA from the University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware and a BA from Lincoln University, Pennsylvania. Her areas of specialisation are Development Economics, Urban Economics and Policy Analysis.

She has received various awards including the Founders Day Award from the Lincoln University as well as the Presidential Citation from the University of Delaware.


  • –present
    Executive director and CEO: School of Business Leadership, University of South Africa