Menu Close
Director Radiation Research and Advice (ARPANSA), and Adjunct Associate Professor (UOW), University of Wollongong

Sarah is currently Director of Radiation Research and Advice, and the Principal Researcher and Director of the Electromagnetic Energy Program at the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA).

She is also a Chief Investigator for the Australian Centre for Electromagnetic Bioeffects Research (ACEBR), an NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence (CRE), and an adjunct researcher at the University of Wollongong.

She received degrees in physiology and psychology from Deakin University before completing a PhD in cognitive neuroscience and psychophysiology in 2007 at Swinburne University of Technology.

She subsequently spent several years as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Zurich, Switzerland, specialising in bioelectromagnetics, sleep, and EEG signal analysis research. During this time she was also accepted as an experienced research fellow in the Marie Curie Training in Sleep and Sleep Medicine initiative.

Her research focuses on a wide range of bioelectromagnetic and non-ionising radiation health issues including the effects on sleep, human brain function, and the mechanisms associated with these effects, as well as sleep, cognitive neuroscience, and risk communication research more generally.

She is a member of the current World Health Organisation (WHO) RF Environmental Health Criterion evaluation committee, and is an elected member of the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection's (ICNIRP) Scientific Expert Group.


  • 2019–present
    Associate Professor, University of Wollongong
  • 2013–2019
    Research Fellow, University of Wollongong
  • 2008–2012
    Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Zurich


  • 2007 
    Swinburne University of Technology, PhD