Menu Close

Saurabh Sinha

Professor and Executive Dean: Engineering, University of Canterbury

Saurabh Sinha obtained his B.Eng, M.Eng, and Ph.D. degrees in Electronic Engineering from the University of Pretoria (UP), South Africa (ZA). Prof Sinha is also a graduate of Wharton’s Advanced Management Program, University of Pennsylvania, USA (alum status). As an established researcher rated by the National Research Foundation, ZA, he has authored or co-authored over 140 publications in peer-reviewed journals, books and proceedings of international conferences. Prof Sinha served UP and the University of Johannesburg (UJ), ZA, for over 22 years – initially as an academic (at various tiers), and then as institute director, executive dean and deputy vice-chancellor. Prof Sinha moved to New Zealand in mid-2023, retaining visiting affiliations at both UJ (Business School and Engineering) and Princeton University (Engineering), USA. At the University of Canterbury, NZ, reporting directly to the vice-chancellor and principal, Prof Sinha leads the Faculty of Engineering as Executive Dean. Among his many achievements, Prof Sinha is a Fellow of the IEEE, recipient of a prestigious U.S. Fulbright grant, and has formerly served as IEEE Board of Director and Vice-President. He is registered as a Chartered Professional Engineer with Engineering New Zealand | Te Ao Rangahau.


  • 2023–present
    Professor and Executive Dean, Engineering, University of Canterbury
  • 2017–2023
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Internationalisation, University of Johannesburg
  • 2013–2017
    Executive Dean, Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment, University of Johannesburg
  • 2013–2017
    Extraordinary Professor, University of Pretoria
  • 2012–2013
    Prof. & Director, Carl and Emily Fuchs Institute for Microelectronics, University of Pretoria
  • 2011–2013
    Group Head: Electronics and Microelectronics, University of Pretoria
  • 2002–2011
    Various academic roles (research assistant, lecturer, senior lecturer, associate professor, etc), University of Pretoria


  • 2022 
    University of Pennsylvania, Advanced Management Program
  • 2008 
    University of Pretoria, Doctorate - Electronic Engineering
  • 2005 
    University of Pretoria, Masters - Microelectronics (with distinction)
  • 2001 
    University of Pretoria, Bachelor's - Electronic Engineering


Fellow of the IEEE