Menu Close

Sharlene Leroy-Dyer

Director Indigenous Business Hub, UQBS, The University of Queensland

Sharlene is a Saltwaterl woman with family ties to the Darug, Garigal, Awabakal, and Wiradjuri peoples. She has a PhD in Management from the University of Newcastle, a Bachelor of Business (Hons) from University of Newcastle and a Graduate Certificate in Indigenous Research and Leadership from University of Melbourne.
Sharlene is the Driector of the Indigenous Business Hub at the University of Queensland and a Senior Lecturer in Employment Relations.
Sharlene is currently the Chair of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander Policy Committee of the National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) and has served for over 10 years as an elected officer in various positions.
She is also the current President of the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Association (NATSIPA) and their appointee to the Council of Australian Postgraduates Association (CAPA) Board. She has extensive experience as a student advocate and leader, having previously been NATSIPA Liaison Officer to CAPA for 6 years, Former president of NUPSA (University of Newcastle) and Welfare officer at NUSA (University of Newcastle).
My research expertise is in the areas of Diversity management, Aboriginal employment, Aboriginal labour history, Closing the gap on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander disadvantage in employment, employment relations, Aboriginal involvement in the union movement, Indigenous enabling pedagogies, Aboriginal leadership, Indigenous entrepreneurship, student organisation governance and Critical Indigenous studies.
Sharlene has extensive experience in corporate governance, workplace relations, strategic management, human resource management and finance, having used these skills in student organisations and Aboriginal associations.


  • –present
    Lecturer in Management, The University of Queensland


  • 2016 
    University of Newcastle, Doctor of Philosophy (Management)


Australia Day Award (Council of Women NSW) , Deans Merit Award (UoN),