Menu Close

Susan Lanham-New

Head of the Department of Nutritional Sciences, University of Surrey

Professor Susan Lanham-New is Professor of Human Nutrition and Head of the Nutritional Sciences Department at the University of Surrey. Susan undertook her PhD at the University of Aberdeen and the Rowett Research Institute, Scotland before moving to the University of Surrey in Guildford in 1996.

Her research focuses on the area of nutrition and bone health, for which she has won a number of awards including three Young Investigator Awards at UK, European and World Osteoporosis Conferences and the 2001 Nutrition Society Medal for her work on the role of the skeleton in acid-base homeostasis.

Susan is a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition (SACN) and was part of the SACN Vitamin D Working Group which published the new UK Vitamin D Requirements in 2016.

She is Editor in Chief of the Nutrition Society Textbook Series (6 books, >65,000 copies sold) and has just been appointed as the new Honorary Secretary for the Nutrition Society.

She is also Editor (with Professor J-P Bonjour, Geneva) of the first academic textbook on Nutritional Aspects of Bone Health. She is on the Editorial Board of Osteoporosis Review.

She has published more than 130 peer-reviewed original papers, book chapters and reviews and raised more than £6.5M in research grants. Her H index is 35. She has 17 students who have successfully completed their PhD and a further 5 students in active PhD study.

She is a member of the Nutrition Forum for the National Osteoporosis Society and the Scientific Advisory Group of British Nutrition Foundation and the BNF Taskforce on Ageing and was Honorary Communications Officer of the UK Nutrition Society from 2000-2006. She has recently been appointed as a Scientific Governor of the British Nutrition Foundation.

She has been awarded Fellowship status of the Royal Society of Biology and Fellowship status of the Association for Nutrition.


  • 1996–2017
    Head of Nutritional Sciences Department, University of Surrey