Menu Close
Director, Canadian Institute for Substance Use Research and Professor of Psychology, University of Victoria

Tim was appointed Director of the Canadian Institute for Substance Use Research (formerly the Centre for Addictions Research of BC) and a Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Victoria in 2004. He has published over 400 research papers, book chapters and monographs, plus several books on prevention and treatment issues in his career.

Dr. Stockwell was engaged in both clinical and research work in the UK before spending 16 years with Australia's National Drug Research Institute as deputy director and then director. He studied psychology and philosophy at Oxford University and obtained a PhD at the Institute of Psychiatry, University of London. In 2018, he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and was president of the international Kettil Bruun Society for Social and Epidemiological Research on Alcohol, 2005-2007. He received the 2013 EM Jellinek Memorial Award for outstanding research on social, cultural and policy aspects of alcohol with special mention of his work on minimum alcohol pricing. He also received a 2014 Health Research leadership award from Research Canada on behalf of CISUR.

He is committed to the advancement of public policy on substance use issues and has established CISUR as a research centre which aims to shed light on the social, cultural and psychological determinants of harmful substance use, which applies rigorous measures of patterns of use and related harms and which advances knowledge of effective policy and practice.

His research interests include: Prevention of alcohol and other drug-related harm; alcohol and other drug policy; measurement of alcohol consumption and related harms; public health and safety impacts of substance use; alcohol harm reduction; and regulatory policies to reduce alcohol-related harm


  • –present
    Professor of Psychology, University of Victoria


2018 Fellow, Royal Society of Canada; 2013 EM Jellinel Memeorial Award for outstanding alcohol policy research