Menu Close

From the Editors

Who funds The Conversation?

Updated June 2015

Why do we disclose that this university does not contribute? Because The Conversation is made possible through the funding support of 32 of the 39 universities plus CSIRO and several strategic partners. The full list of these supporters is CSIRO, Melbourne, Monash, RMIT, UTS, UWA, ANU, ACU, Canberra, CDU, CQU, Curtin, Deakin, ECU, Flinders, Griffith, JCU, La Trobe, Massey, Murdoch, Newcastle, Notre Dame, QUT, Swinburne, Sydney, UniSA, USC, USQ, UNE, UNSW, UQ, UTAS, UWS, VU and Wollongong. The strategic partners are Commonwealth Bank, Corrs Chambers Westgarth, and the Victorian State Government. See our partner page.

They help fund our team of editors, web developers and small back office team.

We decided that The Conversation must be open to all academics and researchers to contribute, irrespective of whether or not their university helps fund the cost of the service.

Why open to all? Because we want to ensure we can get the best possible expert contributors drawn from the entire sector. We oppose a cash-for-comment approach. Nor will we introduce a paywall.

When all 39 Australian universities support The Conversation we will extend and further improve our service to both the universities and to you.

We sincerely hope that in time all universities will see the value of The Conversation and make a contribution to our funding.

If you want to know more, feel free to contact me:

Andrew Jaspan, Editor

Want to write?

Write an article and join a growing community of more than 150,600 academics and researchers from 4,452 institutions.

Register now