Menu Close

Czech Academy of Sciences

The Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (ASCR), established in 1992 by the Czech National Council as the Czech successor of the former Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences, is the leading non-university basic public institution in the Czech Republic. It conducts both fundamental and strategic applied research to create scientific knowledge that contributes to strengthening the nation’s position in key areas of science and to seeking up-to-date solutions to contemporary problems of society. Within three scientific divisions, - mathematics, physics, and earth sciences, - chemical and life sciences, - humanities and social sciences, the Academy manages a network of 60 research institutes and five supporting units staffed by a total of 6400 employees, one half of whom are university-trained researchers and PhD. scientists. ASCR institutes also offer courses at graduate level and supervises doctoral programmes. The Academy advises the state on major issues related to its R&D policy, administers national and international research programmes, and promotes cooperation with industry to foster technology transfer and the exploitation of scientific knowledge.


Displaying all articles

President Félix Tshisekedi greets his supporters after his re-election in Kinshasa on 31 December 2023. Photo: Chris Milosi/nadolu via Getty Images

DR Congo’s election – the key to Félix Tshisekedi’s victory

Those who reject recourse to the courts in favour of street demonstrations are taking the wrong approach to the current democratic turning point.
Un hombre sin mascarilla se manifiesta a favor del dióxido de cloro en Santa Cruz de Tenerife el 26 de septiembre de 2020. Shutterstock / matteoguedia

El dióxido de cloro no cura la covid-19, aunque lo diga un artículo científico

Un supuesto estudio sobre los beneficios del dióxido de cloro contra covid-19 fue publicado en una revista depredadora, lo que significa que no supera los estándares mínimos de calidad. Además, comete errores flagrantes.
L'actuel président Félix Tshisekedi et l'ancien président Joseph Kabila se livrent une bataille féroce pour le pouvoir. Tony Karumba/AFP

Qui détient les rênes du pouvoir en République démocratique du Congo ?

La bataille pour le contrôle du pouvoir prend une nouvelle tournure avec la dislocation de la coalition que le président Félix Tshisekedi avait formée avec le parti de l’ex-président Joseph Kabila.
Former DRC President Joseph Kabila, left, congratulates his succesor, Felix Tshisekedi, on his inauguration in January 2019. EFE-EPA/Kinsela Cunningham

Growing turbulence in DRC’s ruling coalition points to an early divorce

After endless, futile negotiations with the Kabila camp, Tshisekedi appears to have finally recognised the limits of the coalition government and has lost patience.


More Authors