Menu Close
Personal Chair in Nutrition, The Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen

I am recognized as a leading innovative UK researcher within the field of human appetite control and specifically, the role of dietary protein. Since completing my PhD in 2002, my extensive publication record (>60 peer reviewed publications with a total of 3839 citations, of which 2659 since 2010) and excellent track record in funding from RCUK and EU funding bodies has placed me in a position where I have influenced food choice in the UK through collaboration with the food industry and my ongoing knowledge transfer activities.

I think of the kitchen as my ‘laboratory’ and have set rigorous standards to maintain quality scientific protocols. Between 2009-2015 i was a workpackage lead for EU-funded NeuroFAST (Neurobiology of food addiction and stress), SATIN (Satiety Innovation) and Full4Health (food-gut-brain accross the lifecours). I am the grant holder for a RCUK Medical Research Council grant on Chrono-nutrition and co-applicant on a further two RCUK grants.

Current Research
I successfully lead and manage high calibre research activities within the Rowett Institute. I am actively engaged in organising and delivering teaching excellence and learning and I translate my team’s innovative science to a range of stakeholders achieving high impact, through sustained knowledge exchange activities, and having real commercial and community benefit.

I initiate, organise and co-ordinate multi-disciplinary team projects within the Rowett Institute, Nationally and Internationally, leading to the submission of successful major grant proposals to EU and UK funding bodies (MRC, BBSRC, CSO), as Grant Holder and Co-Applicant. The impact of this is to promote a multi-disciplinary research strategy within the Institute, and with external collaborators, both within the College of Medicine and international colleagues. This approach strengthens research output and quality.

I plan and implement the strategic vision for whole-body obesity research for the Scottish Government grant award.


  • –present, University of Aberdeen