Menu Close
Office of the Chief Executive (OCE) Science Leader, and Head of the Virtual Nanoscience Laboratory, CSIRO

Dr Barnard graduated with Honours from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) University, Victoria, Australia, in 2001 and gained her Doctorate in 2003, with a thesis in computational modelling of carbon nanostructures. The thesis resulted in 17 journal publications and one book chapter. Since then she has published over 160 research papers, and a dozen book chapters. Her currently research involved statistical nanoscience and the application of data science in nanotechnology.

Since graduating, Dr Barnard has held a Distingushed Postdoctoral Fellowship and numerous Senior Research Fellow positions at several distinguished research institutions including:

Distinguished Research Fellow at the Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois, USA
Violette and Samuel Glasstone Fellow at the University of Oxford and the Queen’s College, Oxford, United Kingdom
Inaugural Future Generation Fellow at The University of Melbourne, Australia
Australian Research Council Queen Elizabeth II Fellow, CSIRO, Australia
Office of the Chief Executive (OCE) Science Leader, CSIRO, Australia

Within the physics community, Dr Barnard was Associate Editor of the Journal of Computational and Theoretical Nanoscience (2005-2011), has edited other special issues of leading journals, and is currently an Associate Editor for Science Advanced (AAAS) and a member of the physical science panel of experts for The Nature Index (Nature Publishing Group). She has been invited to speak at dozens of international conferences and has co-chaired symposia in the USA, Australia and Europe.

Dr Barnard has received numerous awards for her work. The following page outlines some of her recent awards.


  • –present
    Research Scientist and Leader, Virtual Nanoscience Laboratory Materials Science and Engineering, CSIRO


  • 2003 

Research Areas

  • Condensed Matter Modelling And Density Functional Theory (020403)
  • Nanomaterials (100708)
  • Nanotechnology (1007)
  • Environmental Nanotechnology (100701)
  • Thermodynamics And Statistical Physics (020304)
  • Chemical Thermodynamics And Energetics (030602)
  • Simulation And Modelling (080110)
  • Surfaces And Structural Properties Of Condensed Matter (020406)


2014 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theory); 2014 ACS Nano Lectureship (Asia-Pacific); 2010 IEEE Distinguished Lecturer; 2010 Eureka Prize for Scientific Research; 2010 Frederick White Prize; 2009 Malcolm McIntosh Prize; 2009 Mercedes-Benz Australian Environmental Research Award; 2009 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics