Menu Close

Benjamin J. Eggleton

Professor; ARC Laureate Fellow, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems, University of Sydney

Benjamin J. Eggleton is an ARC Laureate Fellow and Professor of Physics at the University of Sydney. He is the founding Director of CUDOS, the ARC Centre of Excellence for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems. He is also Director for the University of Sydney's Institute of Photonics and Optical Science (IPOS).

He obtained the Bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. degree in Physics from the University of Sydney. In 1996, he joined Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies as a Postdoctoral Member of Staff and was subsequently promoted to Director within the Specialty Fibre Business Division of Bell Laboratories, where he was engaged in forward-looking research supporting Lucent Technologies business in optical fibre devices.

Eggleton has published more than 450 journal publications (with over 18,000 citations and an h-index of 63 according to Webofscience) including articles in Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Communications, Physical Review Letters and Optica and has filed over 35 patents.

He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, IEEE Photonics and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE). Eggleton has received numerous awards for his contributions, including, the 2011 Walter Boas Medal from the Australian Insitute of Physics, the Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science, the 2008 NSW Physicist of the Year medal, the 2007 Pawsey Medal from the Australian Academy of Science, the 2004 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, the 2003 International Commission on Optics (ICO) Prize, the 1998 Adolph Lomb Medal from the Optical Society of America, the Distinguished Lecturer Award from the IEEE/LEOS, and the R&D100 Award.

He was President of the Australian Optical Society from 2008-2010 and was Editor-in-Chief for Optics Communications from 2007-2015. He currently serves on the Board of Governors for the IEEE Photonics Society and is the Editor-in-Chief for APL Photonics.


  • 2003–present
    Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems, University of Sydney


  • 1996 
    University of Sydney, PhD/Physics