Menu Close

Carmela Baranowska

Lecturer in Media, Australian Catholic University

I've been working on human rights for nearly twenty years.

I've written about, filmed, lived and worked in East Timor, Burma, Afghanistan, West Papua and Indonesia.

I'm currently researching and writing on the relationship between human rights, conflict and media.

By 'media' I mean convergence media, social media, twitter, Facebook, citizen journalism (Burma, The Arab Spring, Western Sahara); documentary filmmaking and photojournalism.

I'm also fascinated by postcolonialism, as both a lived reality and as a body of theory.

I was the first Australian journalist and filmmaker to win a Rory Peck Award and my work was also recognised with a Walkley Award.

I have a Graduate Diploma in Documentary from VCA School of Film and TV and an MA from the University of Melbourne where I am currently researching a PhD.

I have been Lecturer in Media at Australian Catholic University since January 2010 and I lecture in New Media Communication, Screen Production and Theorising the Media.

If you'd like to contact me my email is best.

Hope to hear from you soon!


  • 2010–2011
    PhD Candidate, University of Melbourne
  • 1999–2004
    Video journalist, SBS TV


  • 2011 
    University of Melbourne, PhD - The Gun and The Mirror
  • 1997 
    VCAM - University of Melbourne, Graduate Diploma - Documentary
  • 1995 
    University of Melbourne, Master of Arts
  • 1991 
    University of Melbourne, BA (Hons)


  • 2004
    Taliban Country, Film
  • 1999
    Scenes From an Occupation, Film

Research Areas

  • Journalism Studies (190301)
  • Postcolonial Studies (200211)
  • Film, Television And Digital Media (1902)
  • Screen And Media Culture (200212)
  • Communication And Media Studies (2001)
  • Media Studies (200104)


- Human Rights Scholarship (PhD) University of Melbourne

- Walkley Award - Asia Pacific Award

- Walkley Award - Investigative Journalism 'Commended'

- George Munster Award 'Highly Commended'

- WIFT Newcomer Award

- Rory Peck Award