Chair, Infection Control, National University Hospital, National University of Singapore

Professor Fisher graduated from the University of Tasmania in 1985 and became a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians in 1992 doing most of his training at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney. After more than a decade's work at Royal Darwin Hospital in Infectious Diseases (ID) and General internal medicine, he moved to Singapore in 2003.

While most of his work is as an ID physician, he has maintained strong ties with "general medicine" not only as a clinician but as a teacher and as clinical director to the University Medicine Cluster from 2006 to 2014.

He has over 150 publications in the peer reviewed literature and given over 70 plenary and invited presentations at scientific meetings.

Positions outside of NUHS:

Chair of National Infection Prevention and Control (NIPC) Committee
Chair of the OPAT workgroup of the International Society of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
Vice Chair of the Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network (GOARN)
Awards and Honours
Courage Medal, Courage foundation Singapore – March to May ‘03
Singapore Medical Journal Reviewing with Distinction Award for 2005
RACP John Sands Medal for outstanding contribution to College Affairs – May 2006
NUS School of Medicine Faculty Teaching excellence award – 2008 & 9
NUS Annual Teaching Excellence Award nomination 2009
RACP Excellence in Mentoring Award – 2008 & 2009
PS21 ExCEL Award; Outstanding Activist certificate of recognition – Nov 2011
NUHS-Mochtar Riady Pinnacle Excellence Award 2013
National Clinical Excellence Team Award (Lead) 2013 (Ministry of Health)
Gold Award for “Improving Communication through Structured Clinical Handover Process to ensure Patient Safety”; Asian Hospital Management Awards, September 2013
Healthcare Humanity Award, Courage Foundation, Singapore 2015
2015 PS (Health) Living the Values (Team) Award


  • –present
    Chair, Infection Control, National University Hospital, National University of Singapore