Menu Close
Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace and Electrical and Computer Engineering and Director, Center for Automotive Research, The Ohio State University

Giorgio Rizzoni, the Ford Motor Company Chair in ElectroMechanical Systems, is a Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The Ohio State University (OSU). He received his B.S. (ECE) in 1980, his M.S. (ECE) in 1982, his Ph.D. (ECE) in 1986, all from the University of Michigan.

Since 1999 he has been the director of the Ohio State University Center for Automotive Research (CAR), an interdisciplinary university research center in the OSU College of Engineering. His research activities are related to modeling, control and diagnosis of advanced propulsion systems, vehicle fault diagnosis and prognosis, electrified powertrains and energy storage systems, vehicle safety and intelligence, and sustainable mobility. He has contributed to the development of graduate curricula in these areas,and has served as the director of three U.S. Department of Energy Graduate Automotive Technology Education Centers of Excellence: Hybrid Drivetrains and Control Systems (1998-2004), Advanced Propulsion Systems (2005-2011, and Energy Efficient Vehicles for Sustainable Mobility (2011-2016). Between 2011 and 2016 he has served as the OSU Site Director for the U.S. Department of Energy China-USA Clean Energy Research Center - Clean Vehicles. He is currently leading an ARPA-E project in the NEXTCAR proram. During his career at Ohio State, Prof. Rizzoni has directed externally sponsored research projects worth over $60M, funded by major government agencies and by the automotive industry in approximately equal proportion.

Prof. Rizzoni is a Fellow of SAE (2005), a Fellow of IEEE (2004), a recipient of the 1991 National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, and of many other technical and teaching awards.


  • –present
    Professor of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering and Director, Center for Automotive Research, The Ohio State University


Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers; Fellow, Society of Automotive Engineers