Menu Close

Jeffrey Mphahlele

Vice President for Research, South African Medical Research Council

Professor Jeffrey Mphahlele has since October 2014 been the Vice President for Research at the South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC), the largest African science council dedicated to funding and conducting health research. Mphahlele is an elected member of Academy of Science of South Africa and National Research Foundation C1-rated researcher. He is affiliated to Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (formerly MEDUNSA) in Pretoria, where he previously served as an academic for over 20 years in various capacities: Professor and Academic Chair of the Department of Virology and National Health Laboratory Service (2005 to 2014); Co-Director of the SAMRC/Diarrhoeal Pathogens Research Unit, which is a World Health Organization Rotavirus Regional Reference Laboratory for Africa (2010 to March 2018); and Head of the South African Vaccination and Immunisation Centre (SAVIC) (2005 to 2014). Mphahlele’s research interests include epidemiology of HIV, genomics of infectious diseases, vaccination control of infectious diseases (hepatitis B, rotavirus and human papillomaviruses) and strengthening immunisation services and policies. He trained, supervised and mentored several PhD and Master’s students as his contribution to developing the next generation of scientists. Mphahlelele serves on the board as the Vice-Chair of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) Association. In addition, he serves on a number of governance structures and committees including the Global Research Collaboration for Infectious Disease Preparedness (GloPID-R), the WHO Scientific Advisory Group of Experts (SAGE) Polio Working Group, THE National Advisory Group on Immunization (NAGI), the South African National Task Force (NTF) for Laboratory Containment of Poliovirus, and the South African Health Products Regulatory Authority (SAHPRA). His qualifications include PhD, MSc, BSc Med Hons, BSc, MASSAf


  • –present
    Vice President for Research, South African Medical Research Council