Professor of Law, University of South Australia

Dr Rick Sarre is Professor of Law and Criminal Justice at the University of South Australia’s Law School. He completed his law degree at Adelaide University in 1976, undertook undergraduate studies in theology and sociology at Graceland University, 1978-1979 (Iowa, USA), finished a Masters degree (criminology) in Canada in 1983, and received his doctorate (legal science) from the University of Canberra in 2002. In 2015 Dr Sarre was awarded an honorary doctorate in law from Umeå University, Sweden. He has been teaching commercial law, media law, sports law and criminology for 30 years in addition to five years of part-time legal practice. He is the immediate Past President of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology over which he presided for four years. He also served three years on the Victim Support Service (SA) board, six years on the Offenders Aid and Rehabilitation Services of SA board, and 8 years at the helm of the SA Institute of Justice Studies. He is currently a Vice-President of the Adelaide University Football Club. He and his wife Debra and their two children live in Adelaide. They have travelled with him for overseas teaching stints in the USA (1996-1997) and Sweden (2004). He has been a member of the ALP for 30 years and continues on State Council, and as the President of the Dunstan Sub-Branch of the party. In 2010, and again in 2013, he stood as the candidate for Labor in the federal seat of Sturt, and is currently the President of the Sturt FEC.


  • –present
    Professor of Law, University of South Australia


  • 2002 
    University of Canberra, SJD
  • 1983 
    University of Toronto, MA
  • 1977 
    University of Adelaide, LLB