Menu Close
Regents' Professor & Chair, Medical Laboratory Science, Texas State University

Rodney E. Rohde, PhD is a Regents’ Professor, Texas State University System, University Distinguished Professor and Chair for the Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) Program in the College of Health Professions at Texas State University. He also serves as Associate Director for the Translational Health Research Center. Dr. Rohde is a Global Fellow, Fellow of the Association of Clinical Scientists, and Honorary Professor of International studies. He is an ASCP board certified Specialist in Virology, Microbiology and Molecular Biology. He spent a decade as a public health microbiologist and molecular epidemiologist with the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Bureau of Laboratories and Zoonosis Control Division prior to his academic career, including two terms as a CDC Visiting Scientist. Dr. Rohde served as Associate Dean for Research in the College of Health Professions for nine years (2011-20). His research interests include Healthcare Associated Infections (HAIs), antimicrobial resistance, and clinical / public health microbiology especially zoonotic diseases (Rabies, Hantavirus, and others). He also continues to enjoy his role as an Associate Adjunct Professor of Biology with Austin Community College (28 years) where he teaches fundamentals of biology and microbiology courses.

Dr. Rohde has published over 100 research articles and abstracts, two books and is a highly sought keynote presenter with over 100 international, national, and state conference presentations. His two books focus on Methicillin Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) adaptation and Clinical Considerations in Rabies, respectively. In recent years, he has become a globally viral author subject matter expert utilizing invited articles, TEDx talks, podcasts, video casts and interviews to enhance science communication and translational health research literacy in public health, healthcare, and the medical laboratory environment. During the #SARSCoV2 / #COVID19 pandemic and Mpox National Emergency, Doc R is the #1 quoted Texas State subject matter expert and has conducted over 200 interviews for podcasts, TV, newspapers, and internet sites as well as delivered dozens of webinars and workshops at the international, national, state, and local levels. He has received numerous awards and honors during his career, and most recently, added to The Pathologist’s PowerList 2020 , 2022 and 2023 (global award), 2022 Cardinal Health Laboratory Excellence [global Advocacy], 2023 ASCP international Member Educator, and ASCP Career Ambassador.

Dr. Rohde is an active leader in multiple professional organizations, including the American Society of Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS), American Society of Clinical Pathology (ASCP), American Society of Clinical Microbiology (ASM) and the Texas Association for Clinical Laboratory Science (TACLS). He served as a Board Member, President and Past President of TACLS and Chair of the Microbiology and Public Health Scientific Advisory Board with ASCLS. Dr. Rohde is considered a global expert and advocate for his research areas and professions and is a Scientific Advisory Board member on several infection prevention and infectious diseases industry efforts.

Rodney E. Rohde, PhD, SM (ASCP)CM, SVCM, MBCM, FACs, Global Fellow
Personal Website:
Twitter: @RodneyRohde | @TXST_CLS | @TXST_THR
Linkedin: [personal] [Texas State MLS Program]
Facebook: [personal] [Texas State MLS Program] [Texas State Translational Health Research] [Youtube channel]

Updated: December 6, 2023


  • –present
    Professor Clinical Laboratory Science, Texas State University


The Pathologist’s Power List 2020, 2022, 2023; ASCLS Scientific Research National Award ((2020, 2016, 2014, 2007); Honorary Professor of International Studies; Fellow of the Association of Clinical Scientists; Global Fellow - Global Citizenship Alliance; Top 20 Professors of Clinical Laboratory Science You Should Know, Medical Technology Schools; Cardinal Health™ Laboratory Excellence List; J.V. Irons Award for Scientific Excellence